A race to stop.

Why I’m running more miles than I ever thought I would.

I’ve registered for the 2014 Race to Stop MS NYC Half-Marathon because I want to do something for the people who have been diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. For my mother.

(Help me help my mother. You can go to www.raceMSnyc.org and click “Donate” to search for my name.)

My mumma.

My mumma.

She is one of the strongest people I know–but her strength is hidden because the disease is an invisible one. People who do not have MS have no way of knowing what it feels like to have it, what its symptoms are like. My mother has dedicated her life to making mine and my siblings’ lives the best they can be. She has gone the distance and beyond, so now I want to go the distance for her. A tangible goal and a way of showing her that I care.

Most importantly, I want to spread knowledge about MS. Having MS doesn’t mean that my mother doesn’t live her life like anybody else. She is not invalid, but she is sometimes in pain and lives with uncertainty of how she will feel when she wakes up. Having MS doesn’t define how she lives her life or limit what she can and wants to do in life. She just has it, just like you might have brown hair. It’s a characteristic that she has no control over but it isn’t who she is.

Today, there is no cure for multiple sclerosis. But with more research, there could be better drugs to ease the pain and slow its progression, more knowledge of the disease, how it develops in an individual and why. With this race and your help, I am helping fund that research to make it easier for my mom and many others who have MS to get through the day in a little less pain.

The National Multiple Sclerosis Society will use funds collected from Race to Stop MS to not only support research for a cure, but also to provide programs which address the needs of people living with MS today. Because we choose to race for those who sometimes can’t, because we choose to donate to Race to Stop MS, we are getting closer to the hour when no one will have to hear the words, “You have MS.”

Having multiple sclerosis means that you may not be able to run when you wake up. Or that you may suddenly have impaired vision. Or that your memory will fail you for no apparent reason. The symptoms of MS are different for everyone – the only certainty is that it will affect yet another person every hour of every day.

My beautiful mother and I at my Boston College graduation. May 2013.

My beautiful mother and I at my Boston College graduation. May 2013.

(Help me help my mother. You can go to www.raceMSnyc.org and click “Donate” to search for my name.)

One thought on “A race to stop.

Comments are closed.