I don’t usually read the sports section

Don’t get me wrong. Sports writers can be amazing writers. I’m just not a big sports fan, and not a big sports news reader. Partly because I don’t have the faintest clue about how American football or baseball work. That perfectly coincides with the two most popular sports in the US–naturally most of the sports section is littered with articles about the very two sports I understand the least. Well, I guess golf goes on that list, too. But who cares about golf?

Ironically, I’ve been an athlete pretty much my whole life. Signed up for just about every sport that was available during elementary and high school, and even played with my town during the summer and winter breaks.

Swimming. Volleyball. Basketball. Soccer. Badminton. Cross-country. Track & Field. Gymnastics. Skiing.

I even did one season of tee-ball. Little kid’s version of baseball. It wasn’t fun– I got hit in the crotch the first time I played the pitcher’s position, and I wasn’t wearing my crotch pad. It’s awkward for an 8-year-old girl to wear one, especially when she’s one of three girls on the team.

I stuck with figure skating from September to April and soccer during the summer months. Quit both in high school. Picked up skating again in college.

Okay, went slightly off track there. But my point is even though I’ve loved playing sports, I don’t love reading about them. There’s just something about a live game, and playing in one, that is really really really hard to capture in writing.

So needless to say I found myself very surprised to be on page B13 of the NYTimes today.

I’m a dedicated front page news reader. I mean I make an effort to read every single article that appears on the front page.

Today, I didn’t realize I was reading a sports article until I got to the end of the bit that was on the front page telling me to continue reading on page B13.

Even more of  a shocker is that the article is about the upcoming Super Bowl.

“Super Sunday, and the Crowd Goes, Um, Silent”

Read it here:

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/01/21/sports/football/super-sunday-and-the-crowd-goesum-silent.html?_r=0

When I finished reading the article–I won’t hide it, I was very pleased with it– I flipped back to the front page to see who had written it. I burst into a laugh. Of course!

The author? John Branch.

Who else but a Pulitzer Prize winner could get me to read a sports article, in its entirety?

